Categories
Crochet Tips

Why do we Crochet?

Hello! Welcome back, and if you’re new here, welcome! Before we begin, I’m going to quickly ask you to join my email list, using the link below. I only send out emails about once a week, so they won’t clog up your inbox!

https://successful-architect-282.ck.page/8a08a0b5d7

In today’s post, I’m going to be talking about why we crochet.

It’s a bit of a smaller post since I had some tech issues, but hopefully, if you haven’t begun crocheting already this will be the boost you need to get started!

Reason #1: It’s calming

The first reason most people get started with crocheting is because it is calming.

Some people will choose yoga/exercising to calm themselves, and others will choose baking/cooking to be their calming strategy.

But, a lot of people (creative ones especially) will choose something where they can see an outcome in the end.

So, they may choose crocheting, knitting, sewing, drawing, painting, etc.

That’s why crochet is calming, and why lots of people turn to crochet when they are stressed, because it’s a proven stress reliever.

Crochet can be something we look forward to after a hard, long day of work.

Or, it can be something you look forward to after your kids go to bed (I’m not in this situation, but I know of a few people who crochet after their kids go to bed).

The main point is, crochet is calming.

Reason #2: It can help with fidgeting

Some people start crocheting because it can help them with fidgeting.

Crochet can be a fidgeting reliever as well as a stress reliever because crochet uses your hands.

If you are a fidgety person (and even if you aren’t) and you want to use your hands constantly, then crochet may be a good thing for you to start!

Crochet can keep your hands busy for long periods of time depending on what project you’re working on.

Reason #3: You get an end result that lasts forever

The last reason is that when you crochet something, whether it be a hat, blanket, scarf, ear warmer, etc. you get to keep it forever.

You may not get to use it forever if it gets too small or if it gets too dirty, but you will get to use it for a long time.

Most people enjoy knowing that something they spend lots of time on (and put lots of love into) will be used for a long time.

It’s not like baking where the item you bake is gone within a few days, what you crochet stays with you forever.

Why YOU Crochet!

One last part before I close this post up. I asked YOU on instagram why you crocheted, and I got 8 lovely answers back that I wanted to share here. If you want to check out any of the accounts I mention, just click their picture and it will bring you to their account!

@on_a_cat_creations

@breescrochetboutique

@cottontail_studio

@crochet_.queen

@albayt.53

@crochetedforcuddles

@chelseas_crochet21200

@pomegran_flower_crochet

If you liked/relate to any of their reasons, feel free to take a quick look at their instagram accounts!

Closing

And with that I’m going to close up this post.

I hope this post gave you the boost you needed to begin crocheting, and if it didn’t, then feel free to ask any questions in the comments!

Also, if you want to tell me why YOU crochet, feel free to in the comments!

♡ Cayley

Subscribe to my Newsletter

https://successful-architect-282.ck.page/8a08a0b5d7

If the link is giving you trouble, please send me an email at crochetwithcayley@gmail.com

Before you leave, please consider following me on social media!

Instagram Pinterest 

Are you interested in creating a pattern with me? If so, click here!
Are you interested in seeing a pattern for a specific design? If so, click here!

2 replies on “Why do we Crochet?”

Leave a comment